Friday, July 13, 2012

Donald Vega – Spiritual Nature

2012 Resonance Records

Spiritual Nature is a grand follow-up to pianist Donald Vega's 2008 debut release, Tomorrows. Much like his previous release, the Nicaraguan-born Vega emphasizes hard-driving swing with the occasional foray into Latin and classical styles. Renowned drummer Lewis Nash, who was featured on Tomorrows, offers solid support to Vega's original material and arrangements of tunes by the likes of Ron Carter—an employer of Vega—, Makoto Ozone and Benny Golson. Bassist Christian McBride and guitarist Anthony Wilson round out the quartet.
Monty Alexander's "Accompong" and Ozone's "You Never Tell Me Anything" bring out the best in Vega. Spurred on by McBride and Nash, piano virtuosity quickly becomes explicit and intense. Violinist Christian Howes and saxophonist Bob Sheppard make strong guest appearances.

No comments:

Post a Comment